lovelikeheloves

Love Always

Encouragement

on March 1, 2015

This blog post, like the month of February, shall be short and sweet. So even though February was a short month, I feel like it was long. Ha, ya know what I mean? Those 4 weeks sure did seem to take their sweet time. Well, at least that’s how it felt for me. I was trying to figure out why February seemed to drag on and I think I’ve figured it out….to be quite honest, I was feeling a bit discouraged. Let me explain…

So if you’ve been following my blog, you know that I was serving in the classrooms last semester as an assistant teacher. This semester however, I’m working as a social worker in the morning and assisting in the classroom only in the afternoon. While I was excited to try my hand as a social worker in this context, I was also incredibly nervous for various reasons (there’s really no need to get into all of them). When I got back from Christmas break, I was given a list of kids that I was asked to work with. I was excited!  But for one reason or another, my ‘social worker duties’ kept getting pushed back. What I mean is, things kept coming up to where I was doing more administrative work rather than social work. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not complaining. I came here to serve in whatever capacity I can, so wherever they place me, I’ll gladly serve there. My dilemma was that I felt like I was letting the school, and more so the kids, down. Thoughts popped in my mind like “is what I’m doing actually benefiting anyone?” or “did they make a mistake when they asked me to be the school’s social worker?” Nonetheless, I went on with the administrative work I was doing and found ways to squeeze in work with the kiddos on my caseload.

I was feeling a little discouraged about my work with the individual students until one of my sessions with one of my girls. Let me tell you a little bit about this sweet child. She is in 2nd grade and has lived through some terrible things that no one, definitely no one at her age, should have to go through. Yet, she comes to school with a smile on her face ready to give hugs as if nothing had ever happened. During a session with her, she told me about her home life and how unhappy she is there. My heart sank as I listened to her tell me about what she endures at home. I was looking at her face thinking “oh my goodness, how can she be so happy all the time after all of that?!” At that moment, she looked up at me with those sweet, innocent, brown eyes of hers, and smiled. That’s all it took. A smile from her at that very moment was all I needed to rid me of the doubt that had been clogging my mind. It no longer mattered if I was working in the office or working as the social worker, in that moment, I was someone she could talk to and feel safe with.

I’m still working with her and every day that I see her I get a daily dose of encouragement. She teaches me, like many of our kids in the batey, what it truly means to be courageous. For this, I am grateful.

Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.”

-Matthew 19:14

Love always,

Gabby

4 responses to “Encouragement

  1. Lilia Mejia says:

    Hello Gabby, we are so glad to read your monthly updates, we will keep you and all your community and kids on our prayers (like always)
    Love you
    Pepe and lila😊

    Like

  2. Jessica Gonzalez says:

    It’s 4 am and I can sleep, sooo naturally I ended up on your blog and caught up on it! Just wanted to remind you that you are absolutely amazing, and it is so beautiful that you are out there chugging along making a difference! Sending prayers your way! Love you lots momma D!

    -Jessica

    Like

  3. fatima yilbial says:

    That is a cute reflection Gabby. I feel strengthened by that. Go Gabby Go Gabby………

    Like

Leave a Reply

