lovelikeheloves

Love Always

Typical Day

on November 1, 2014

I’ve been here 3 months and I finally have a routine going. Better late then never eh? If you read my previous entries, then you know that the first month or so was difficult, but it’s been easier since then. Well, easier isn’t the word, more like I’ve grown accustomed to living here. When I was still home, people often asked what I would be doing once I got here. I usually replied with “um, teaching…not sure what I’ll be teaching though ::insert Kanye shrug::.” I didn’t really know what exactly I would be doing or what to expect, I just knew it would be something new. Well, ain’t that the truth!

So now that I have a routine, let’s pretend you’re asking me “so Gabby, what exactly is it that you’re doing? What’s your typical day?” Well I’m glad you asked! Here it is:

I wake up at 6:15, say my morning prayers, get dressed, make some good ol Dominican coffee, eat breakfast, pack my lunch, and at around 7:15 I hear incessant honking outside which means the guagua (aka our ride) is here. (There’s a picture of it in my second post I think if you care to look.) Anyhow, about 23 of us pack in there and set off for school. We get to school around 7:35 and kids are already there waiting to greet the profes.

I go into the classroom and straighten up a bit to get ready for the day. I’m outside with the kiddos at 7:55. For the next four hours I’m with 26 four to five year olds trying to not lose it. Jk..well, kinda. They are an active bunch to say the least, the very least at that. These kids come to school hungry and sometimes with little sleep. Now everybody knows that being both tired and hungry do not make a great combination, especially in kids. Needless to say they teach me patience every morning. But I mean really, how could you not love these faces??

image

image

So from 12:15-1:30 is our lunch aka my naptime. Yes, I really nap. No, don’t judge me. At 2pm my little ones come. These are the 3 year olds and they’re adorbs. They can get cray from time to time as well but there’s not as many of them so it’s a bit easier. They like to dance. Scratch that, they LOVE to dance. It’s so cute!

School let’s out at 4:30 and we usually leave on the same guagua by 5. By this time I’m exhausted, but the day isn’t over quite yet.

We (the nuns and the other volunteer I live with) have dinner together Mon-Thu. We each take turns cooking. On Mondays, the German volunteers that are apart of another program that also works with the school come over for dinner. Tuesday is my night to cook which means I start cooking as soon as I get home so we can eat at a decent hour. Let me just say Pinterest has definitely come in handy! Wednesday and Thursday we have community prayer after dinner and we take turns leading it. It’s a time to reflect on the week and talk about where we’ve seen God in the week. Now the weekends are time to partayyyy!! Just kidding. I do a lot of sleeping on the weekend. We’re each assigned an area to clean so I do that and I also do my laundry. I know, I know, it’s exciting stuff. The other and volunteer and I will sometimes go out dancing or go the concert that the city puts on every Sunday. I’ve been practicing my bachata and merengue but I still don’t have the salsa down. I’m determined to be at least an okay salsa dancer by the time I leave though! 

So there ya have it! My week in a nutshell. There are some other things that are pretty “typical” here, such as ants, lizards, cockroaches, mosquitos, flies, and sweat. Haha, but really, it’s still freaking hot. So enjoy your Fall because I don’t get one this year.

I didn’t know what to expect before coming here, and even though some days are incredibly challenging for many reasons, I know I’m right where I need to be. I didn’t know what God had planned for me once I got here, but every day I try to let him lead me with His spirit of love and he never fails to show up. God shows himself to me in so many ways and always at the perfect time. So even though my typical day 6 months ago is nothing like my typical day now, I wouldn’t trade it for the world. God’s called me here to love His people and that’s what I intend to do. I won’t lie, there’s times when I feel like I have no idea what I’m doing, but I try to spread some LOVE nonetheless.

There’s a song by Hillsong United called Oceans that I love (even though it’s kinda old) because it reminds me that God will guide me even when I feel like I don’t know what I’m doing. So if you ever feel that way too, know that you’re not alone and that God will always guide your way if you let Him.

Your grace abounds in deepest waters
Your sovereign hand
Will be my guide
Where feet may fail and fear surrounds me
You’ve never failed and you won’t start now…

… Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior.

Love always,
Gabby

PS. Happy Halloween!! Also, I would like to wish my crazy nephew Jacob Anthony, who turns 4 on Wednesday, a very happy birthday. Moni, tell him I love and miss him very much. And tell him I especially miss his silly faces and funny singing! I would also like to wish a feliz cumpleaños to mi padre who turns the big 55 on November 28! Te extraño mucho dad! Que Dios te bendiga con muchos años mas! Espero que tu día especial esté lleno de amor y felicidad y todo lo que disfrutas (Bebe una margaritas para mí..haha) Love you!

One response to “Typical Day

  1. Lilia Mejia says:

    Hello baby it’s me……..mammy….. Lol every first of the month I look forward to you blog to read your experiences even when we talk over the phone every week, nothing is enoghug about you. We miss you more than what your think,we all miss you, your sisters,your nice and nephews and of course mom and dad.We all know that God planes are better than us, we just need to let him guide us, even when we all miss you very much we know that is a reason why you are there and he will take care of you. “God is good all the times. And all the times God is good”
    Love you

    Like

Leave a Reply

